Week 28: A New Visitor

Hey everyone!  I hope you all are having a nice July so far.  This week my something new was one I wish could be repeated more frequently.  This week my brother was in town and he stayed with me for a few days.  My brother lives on the other side of the country, and while this isn’t his first trip out west, it is the first time he’s been able to stay with me.  Normally he stays with our mom because she has both a bed for him to sleep in and he’s able to use her car a lot of the time.  So normally when he comes to visit, I only get to see him briefly on weekends.  However, I now have an actual bed in my guest room as opposed to an uncomfortable blow-up bed (exciting, I know!)  I still don’t have a car he can really borrow, but this time we were able to make things work for the three days he stayed with me.  He had work to do in the city where I work, so he hitched a ride with me to work and was able to get his stuff done while I went to work.  Then, the managers at work were kind enough to let him in as a guest so he could hang out with me at work getting his own work done until my shift was over.  It really was a great situation.

Of course, I would have loved to be able to hang out with him more outside of work so we could actually talk, do something fun, and enjoy our time together, but this was better than nothing.  We got to hang out at my house, he introduced me to the BBC show Top Gear, which was pretty funny despite the fact that I really don’t care about cars.  We also got to talk on the drive to and from work, and he went on a little trip down memory lane with the playlist I listen to while driving.  I honestly didn’t realize how old most of the songs are (90s – early 2000s), although I probably should have considering boyfriend usually commandeers the music controls when we’re driving together…

Anyway, I’m always thrilled when I get to spend time with my brother and this was no exception.  I hope he’s able to come to visit again sooner rather than later.  In the meantime, I’m visiting his side of the country as I write this, and will be returning the favor by staying at his place for a few days, which is also something new for the both of us.  Can’t wait to tell you all about it next week!

Leave a Reply

