Week 23: Playing Catch-up & Making Lists

This week my something new was focusing on going back in time and catching up with my blog posts.  Clearly I wasn’t entirely successful since I wasn’t caught up by the end of the week.  However, it did help me get back into a semi-regular writing routine, which I have since improved on.

One other thing I tried was creating a daily to-do list in an effort to help me prioritize how I spend my time. Some days I got everything on my list done, some days I didn’t.  By the end of the week I realized that not everything I need to do can fit on a daily list because they simply take more time.  I don’t know about you, but I know I go through productive spurts where for a few days I’ll be in a ‘get stuff done’ mode, but then it tapers off and I start getting lazy again.  I want to try to combat that so I can be more consistently productive and so I don’t end up kicking myself at the end of the day for wasting time.  That’s not to say I want to be busy all the time, but I don’t want to feel like I’m not doing anything valuable with my time either.

I’m still figuring out the most effective way for me to prioritize my time and keep myself in check, but one thing I do know for myself is that I love the feeling of crossing something off my list.  It helps me feel more productive, confident, and eager to keep going and get something else done, so I’m definitely going to keep working at it until I find what works best for me.

Leave a Reply

