Week 5: A New Habit – Inbox Cleansing

Hey there!  How’s it going?  Happy February, I hope you all are doing well and trying something new.  If you haven’t done anything new this year, no worries, it’s never too late!  This week my something new is not of the exciting sort, but it is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while.  And that thing is… organizing my e-mail inboxes.

You see, my inbox mirrors my life in that I am a bit of a pack rat, and while I wouldn’t say I’m messy, I can come across as disorganized.  In my home I tend to leave papers on the table for a week or two until I decide I’ve had enough, or until my mom comes over.  At that point I sit down, take care of anything I’ve been putting off and file the papers away.  Every time I feel lighter, happier, and assure myself I won’t let the papers build up again.  That usually lasts about 3 days, then I’ll fall back into my old routine and the papers will pile up again.  The inboxes for my e-mail accounts is no different.

Since I’m not in my home at the moment, I couldn’t tackle the paper filing habit, but I could sit down and get rid of the unnecessary emails that were clogging my inbox, over 1,300 unread emails in two inboxes to be exact.  Believe it or not that’s down from over 10,000 a few months ago, so in my mind it wasn’t so bad.  But then my boyfriend saw my unread e-mail total… he who had zero unread emails in four inboxes (or maybe more, I forget the exact number); which is just the latest example of the unending list of differences between us.  But I digress.  He did not say anything negative, although the expression on his face screamed “you’re ridiculous” in my mind.  All he did was chuckle and shake his head, then we went back to watching whatever movie we were watching at the time.

Still, looks like that stick with me, and it’s not like I want to have over 1,000 unread emails in addition to the countless emails that I had read but never deleted, sitting in my inbox.  So, I set out to do some tidying up.  Most of the emails were mailing lists trying to sell me things, get me to take classes, or advertising what’s going on around me.  I signed up for all of them, yet actually read very few of them.  I’m sure I’m not the only one, but as to why I never just deleted them, I can’t say.  But that’s what I did this week.  I went through my email in spurts of about 5-10 minutes, and it took all week, but it is done.  Turns out I had years worth of emails that I had read but never filed or deleted.  But no more!  I am proud to say I went through all of them, and now I do not have to scroll down at all to see all my emails in my inboxes on my phone!  It took a lot of deleting, a little filing, and a tiny bit of reading, but it is done.  And unlike the papers that seem to accumulate on my table at home after a round of filing, I hope to keep my inboxes clean from now on.

Leave a Reply

