A New Goal

Hey Everyone!  I hope you all are having a great 2017 so far and that whatever resolutions, goals, dreams, or challenges you have made for yourself are going well.  As for me, this week my something new is the first step of a larger, long-term goal.  Early on in the week, I registered for my first writing conference!  I am looking forward to it very much because I have wanted to go to a conference for a while, but since it can be hard for me to get time off work, I have had a hard time finding one I could go to.  This conference not only happens to be nearby, it also conveniently fell on a weekend where I was able to get Friday off from work.

So, that will be my something new in a couple months, how it affected this week is that in order to get a pitch session with an agent or editor, you have to have a completed manuscript by the time of the conference.  When I signed up, I didn’t even have an idea for a novel.  (I have several ideas and works in progress for short stories, children’s books and scripts, just no novels.)  However, if I am going to to a conference, I also want to take the opportunity to try out my pitch skills.  So, when I signed up, I indicated that I would have a completed manuscript by the time the conference begins.  That day, thanks to some brainstorming help from my mom, I came up with an idea, wrote some plot notes, and as of now I have 15 pages written!  I have tried things like National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in the past and I’ve either managed to give up, or succeed in writing daily but failed to reach the 50,000 word count goal.  In this case, I don’t have a specific word count in mind, but I have a solid goal with a deadline, and that’s always proven to be the best kind of motivation for me.  One thing I know about myself is that I am a master procrastinator, but if I am going to be held accountable by someone other than myself, I always find a way to come through in the end.  So the challenge has been set and the journey has begun, I will continue to try new things in the coming weeks, but I’ll be sure to keep you updated how my manuscript goal is coming as well.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

