Week 1 – What’s New?

Do you ever feel bored with your life?  If you’re anything like me, you can have a pretty good life overall, but still just feel bored.  I am one who both yearns for, and resists change. I find my routine boring, but very comfortable and safe.  I wake up, go to work, interact with a pretty set group of people, go to sleep, wake up and repeat.  On weekends I might venture out to the movies or a restaurant, maybe both if I’m feeling really adventurous.

Of course there’s the occasional intrusion of an unexpected life event, for example at the moment I am displaced from my home due to a small fire in the building that caused the sprinklers to flood my condo.  Obviously that has thrown me a little out of my usual routine, but I know that unless I make a concerted effort, as soon as I am back home, I will fall back into my old routine and once more be living, but not feeling very alive.  So, it’s a new year, what a perfect time to change it up and start something NEW.

Thus we begin.  This year, each week I am going to try something, go somewhere, or learn something new.  My something new can be as simple as trying a new food, or as wild as going BASE jumping (I don’t know if I will get to that this year, but it is on my bucket list).  My something new might be part of a larger goal, but it doesn’t have to be, just as long as it’s something new.

For this week my something new is this blog.  I have thought about writing one for years, but could never decide on a topic.  Now armed with a topic, and a fun challenge I begin.  Each week I will share something new, and I invite you to join in and try something new for yourself.

It’s a new year, so what’s new with you?

Leave a Reply

